Just back from a glorious week in Teesdale, County Durham;  new experience for me.  I was surprised by how lovely and peaceful it was.

While there I took the chance to read my latest issue “Mountain Astrologer” {August/september 2011 edition} and found myself provoked by a long and thoughtful article by one of my astrological heros, Nick Campion.  Nick is interested in mundane astrology; never a favourite topic of mine.  He is also interested in prediction {“Can we do it?  Discuss…”}.

I for my part went off prediction a long time ago and no longer claim to do it, even when I use predictive techniques to “bring the chart up todate”.  I am pretty confident that any “predictions” I have made have been worked out collaboratively with my client, working from their past experience with specific planets and an exploration of the current situation. 

Mundane astrology does seem to be very much preoccupied with that which is fated and with being able to make prognostications about the future – war will be declared; the head of state will die etc.  I have to say this kind of stuff doesn’t light my fire.  Nor, I suspect, does it cut it for heads of state or shipping owners either, since they mostly are already aware of problems and risks, without receiving even more baleful warnings from astrologers.

Of course astrologers have at times been sought out to provide advice to princes, presidents and lord protectors.  In responding, the astrologer has to demonstrate knowledge, not just of their craft, but of the multilayered realities in the situation.  William Lilly for example, expected his client to be able to describe his or her situation in full, along with the key players in the action and their concerns and priorities. Perhaps one of the most galling aspects of Nick Campion’s article is his over reliance on the Guardian newspaper for insights into the Arab world.  Come on Nick, burn some midnight oil with a few well informed Arabic people.  And why condemn them to revolt?  Why not explore some more creative developmental scenarios that would foster a more substantial and lasting Arab spring?